2012 New Year’s Resolutions

Posted: January 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Why are most people so down on New Year’s resolutions? I think the start of a new year can be a great time to draw a line in the sand and make positive changes to your life. The key is to actually have a plan. Most people set goals and fail because they haven’t thought about what they need to do to get there.

Here are a few things I hope to accomplish in 2012:

1. Read 12 books. I used to be a reading machine when I was a kid. I churned through every single Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl book in existence, and spent countless hours at the library. Once I started uni, it all stopped. All those dry, boring textbooks and academic papers killed my enthusiasm and I hardly touched a book for four years. I’m pleased to say that after a few years in the wilderness, I’m back on the wagon and looking forward to my first read of 2012, The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do.

2. Go to the gym three times a week. I usually go to the gym a few times a week but I’ve been a bit slack over the last six months. I want to get fit so I can do Run for the Kids again, plus I want to lose a bit of weight but most of all, I don’t want to waste money on something that I’m paying for every fortnight! I’m going to go to Results class on Mondays, Body Pump on Thursdays and run on the treadmill on Wednesdays. That equals about $4 a visit.

3. Save more, spend less. I want to save more for a few reasons: (i) I want to build up a deposit for an apartment (ii) I want to have enough money to go to New York in 2013. I want to spend less for a few reasons: (i) I already have way too many clothes and accessories and way too much makeup, all of which are underutilised (ii) My apartment is hard to live in when it is so cluttered with stuff (iii) I feel overconsumed – buying stuff isn’t as fun as it used to be.

4. Bring my lunch to work four days a week. This spins out of goal number three. It’s very expensive to buy your lunch every day – I’d know, because I used to do it. $10 x 5 days x 48 weeks = $2,400 = yowser! I can’t quit altogether, I mean, I’ve been buying my lunch every Friday ever since my first lunch order in Prep. It’s a big deal for me. However, if I only bought my lunch one day a week and put the money I would have spent on the other four days in a jar, I’d save $1,920. That’s more than enough for my plane ticket to New York.

What are your goals for 2012?

Leave a Reply

