Mega Haul: Sephora and Nordstrom

Posted: December 22, 2011 in Beauty, Hauls, Shopping
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One thing I spend a lot of my money on is makeup. It’s taken me many years of trial and error to find products that perform well enough that I’m happy to put them on my face every day. Unfortunately, a lot of them are department store brands, so I’ve had to be a bit thriftier in my procurement methods to avoid going broke.

I don’t like shopping at the counter. I find it intimidating and feel like I’m being pressured to buy stuff that I don’t need. I’ll go there when I’m in urgent need of something (e.g. I’ve totally run out of foundation), but instead I usually put in one or two big orders a year from US stores such as Sephora and Nordstrom, avoiding the need to speak to sales assistants and saving myself a fortune.

Sephora held their annual Friends and Family 20% off sale in November, so I decided to use it as an opportunity to stock up on my every-day makeup items as well as pick up a couple of cheap gifts for Christmas. I also needed some MAC so I paid a virtual visit to Nordstrom. Fiona at Shopaholiques helped me out with parcel forwarding (Nordstrom) and assisted purchasing (Sephora) services.

See below for item listing and price comparisons.

(Note: I bought all of this when $1 AUD = $1 USD. All prices include discounts and sales tax/GST)

Sephora

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in Deauville ($35.95 USD vs $79 AUD)

NARS Pro-Prime Multi-Protect Primer ($27.39 USD vs $69 AUD)

NARS Illuminator in Orgasm ($24.82 USD vs $58 AUD)

NARS Illuminator in Copacabana ($24.82 USD vs $58 AUD)

Stila Lip Glaze Set ($21.40 USD vs $65 AUD)

L’Occitane Hand Cream Confections ($34.24 USD vs n/a)

NARS Bronzing Powder in Laguna ($28.24 USD vs $55 AUD)

Nordstrom

Clinique Cream Shaper for Eyes in Egyptian ($16.05 USD vs $32 AUD)

Le Metier de Beaute ‘Creme Fresh’ Tint for Lip and Cheek ($29.96 USD vs n/a)

MAC Brow Set ($16.05 USD vs $28 AUD)

MAC Prep and Prime Transparent Pressed Powder ($24.61 USD vs $42 AUD)

MAC 150 Large Powder Brush ($44.94 USD vs $85 AUD)

Le Metier de Beaute ‘Flawless Face’ Kaleidoscope Face Kit ($101.65 USD vs n/a)

As you can see, there’s quite a difference in price between Australia and the US, with most items around half the price. Shipping to Australia and insurance cost around $55 USD and I paid $24 for parcel forwarding and purchasing services from Shopaholiques but I still think I came out miles ahead. It was also a great opportunity to access brands and products that aren’t available here (i.e. Le Metier de Beaute).

Buy your cosmetics here www.sephora.com and here www.nordstrom.com

For parcel forwarding/assisted purchasing: www.shopaholiques.com

Comments
  1. I promise, I am not a blog stalker. I’m just really enjoying your blog. Since I’m a new Aussie resident who is American, I am having deep withdrawals over all of the American prices. So, you have some awesome tips! I have been rationing out my Stila glosses. ha!

    • Thank you and thanks for reading, it means a lot 🙂

      The price difference is incredible, isn’t it! I don’t think importing costs, GST, etc has much to do with it – staff wages and rent are a factor but a lot of it is brands pricing to what they think the market can bear.

      To their credit, Mecca Cosmetica has lowered a lot of their prices recently, particularly on NARS products, but I’d still head to StrawberryNET or use a parcel forwarder if I wanted a lot of stuff.

      • I agree! I think that brands will charge whatever they think they can get away with. And, they can! Plus, wages and the overall cost of living is not nearly as high in the states, so I guess it’s all relative in the end. But, it is nice to get a good deal! 😉

        I just recently found StrawberryNet! It’s great. Mecca is on my list, for sure!

  2. Adrianna says:

    my mum does the same, I currently live in the states and when she comes over or if she is ever in need of something she has run out of, I send it over to her and she pays a fraction of the cost. Ridiculous how the same item can cost twice as much depending on your location!

    – – http://theadornation.wordpress.com

  3. Dempeaux says:

    Great haul!! You have great taste! I have the Flawless Face Kit and love it. VERY pigmented, but so great for travel, and a great quality product.

    I still have to try Laguna and the Creme Fresh Tint 🙂

    • The Flawless Face Kit is just amazing! I love customisable palettes so this one was hard to pass up.

      Laguna is great, works well on all skin tones, including the exceptionally pale like myself. It’s matte so very natural looking.

      I haven’t tried the Creme Fresh Tint yet but it looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

