Review: The Body Shop at Home Party

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Beauty, Events, Reviews
Tags:

Ever heard of The Body Shop at Home? It’s basically like a Tupperware party but with products from the Body Shop. A friend of mine is a seller and invited me to have a party at my place. I’m usually not a fan of these sorts of things, either because the products are too expensive (e.g. $30 for a lunch box) or they aren’t something I want to purchase in front of family and friends (e.g. lingerie).  Then there’s the overwhelming obligation to purchase something – even if I pick the cheapest thing, I’m normally out $20+. And it always ends up being something useless like a rolling pin.

Anyway, I decided to go ahead with the party and invited a heap of friends around for lunch. I also told them that there was no need to buy anything if they didn’t want to – I had a few things on my personal shopping list but was willing to pay full price for them. The party started with an icebreaker game where names were pulled out of a hat, prizes were handed out, then they were stolen from each other as more and more names were drawn out of a hat. After that, we broke into two groups and took turns doing hand spas, trialling a range of different soaks, scrubs and moisturisers. While this was happening, a selection of products were laid out for everyone to try and experiment with at their own leisure, without the sales pressure that normally comes with visiting a Body Shop store.

The ordering process was quite easy – there were a heap of catalogues and order pads scattered around the room. Orders were delivered within the week so it was great for everyone trying to finish off their Christmas shopping before the silly season well and truly starts.

The benefits of being a host are amazing and make hosting a party truly worthwhile. A mixture of free product, half price product and discount product allowed me to get everything in the photo above for around $100 (retail value of over $240). It was a great opportunity for me to stock up on everyday items and try a few new things for little cost.

The items I chose were:

Peach Body Butter $27.95

Cranberry Joy Body Butter $27.95

Earth Lovers Cucumber & Mint Shower Gel $14.95

Fruity Butter Trio $31.95

Spa Wisdom Africa Shea Butter & Sesame Oil Body Balm $38.95

Fuzzy Peach Bath and Shower Gel $12.95

Mango Body Scrub $27.95

Pink Grapefruit Body Scrub $27.95

Sweet Lemon Body Scrub $27.95

For product info: www.thebodyshop.com.au

For party info: http://www.thebodyshop.com.au/Content.aspx?Id=8

Comments
  1. I’m a fan of the body shop, too! I’m originally from the US, but I am marrying an Aussie, so I am living in OZ now. It’s crazy how much more the prices are here, then in the US!

    It’s worth it though! I love the Cucumber Mint scent.

Leave a Reply

