My Melbourne: Eating Out

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Food, Places, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Between Christmas parties, birthday lunches and catching up with friends, I’ve been eating out a lot over the past few months! Check out my top picks while I head to the gym to burn off some excess calories:

Red Spice Road

www.redspiceroad.com

27 McKillop Street, Melbourne

Go there for: An upmarket south-east Asian dining experience that provides sensational value for money.

My favourite: The lunch banquet – $30 for five different dishes  to share (I had the pork belly, thai beef salad, barramundi curry, prawns and tofu), accompanied by steamed jasmine rice and an appetiser of betel leaf with shredded chicken, chilli and kaffir lime. Delicious!

Picture courtesy of www.thatsmelbourne.com.au

Tazio

www.tazio.com.au

66 Flinders Lane, Melbourne

Go there for: Undoubtedly the best wood-fired pizzas in town! Get a table outside so you can people-watch on Flinders Lane.

My favourite: The Marostica pizza – olives, sausage, pesto and vine-ripened cherry tomatoes (see pic below). I’ve never bothered to order anything else!

 

La Camera

www.lacamerasouthgate.com

Mid Level, East End, Southgate

Go there for: Friendly, relaxed atmosphere, hearty Italian food and beautiful views of the Yarra River from the balcony.

My favourite: The La Camera risotto – bacon, mushrooms, spinach, pesto, tomato and parmesan with a touch of cream. I also like the $10 lunch specials!

Picture courtesy of www.yourrestaurants.com.au

No.35

http://www.sofitelmelbourne.com.au/cpa/htm/htm_bar_dining.asp?page_id=16

Level 35, 25 Collins Street

Go there for: Spectacular views of the city, great food and excellent  service.

My favourite: The $59 Christmas buffet – I took full advantage of the carvery (cider glazed ham and stuffed turkey) and tried out every miniature pudding, cake and mousse on the dessert cart!

Picture courtesy of Tourism Victoria

Leave a Reply

